Lil Brigid’s Day happiness

My tiny happy tribute to the archetype Brighid, flavored by my own Atheistic Celtic Southern Appalachian brand of spirituality. Come spring! And may the wheel of creative fire spin madly in the hearts of the wild and compassionate children of earth.

Strategies For Creating in Chaos: an Interview with Author Robert Duff

Today, I’d like to welcome psychologist and self-help author Robert Duff for a chat about self-management and stress. Hi Robert, and thanks for joining us here! 🙂

What role do you feel creative expression plays in fostering mental health? 

I think that it plays a very important role. I often see the world in a yin and yang sort of way – creation and destruction. Often when we are depressed or having other mental health issues, we have to go through a sort of grieving process and we have to allow the life we expected to have (free of these issues) to die. In my opinion, one of the most helpful things for overcoming a loss is to create something new. The definition of creative expression is pretty broad in my book. That could be creating physical art, writing something, or even just cultivating new friendships or hobbies. Continue reading